Canberra International wins best tournament at Newcombe Medal

The Canberra International won the most outstanding professional tournament of the year at the Tennis Australia Newcombe Medal night in Melbourne on Monday.

Jordan Thompson and Zoe Hives won the singles titles at the event earlier this month but Canberra took out the award for the first time based on the 2017 edition.

Zoe Hives in action at the Canberra International earlier this month. Credit:Sitthixay Ditthavong

The men’s tournament is worth US$75,000 and the women’s $60,000 and both have been played since 2015 at the redeveloped Lyneham Tennis Centre.

ACT rising star Annerly Poulos was nominated for the junior female athlete of the year and despite a stellar season, she missed out to Destanee Aiava who won it for the second straight year.

Ashleigh Barty and Alex de Minaur were named joint winners of the Newcombe Medal.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *